Interview with Amelia Cotter

Amelia Author Pic3Tell us about your publishing journey…
Long and hard, and not in the way I usually like it.
What do you love about being an author?
It’s been my lifelong dream to write and be a published author. It’s my identity and everything about me, and gives me a sense of purpose and accomplishment. Writing is the one talent I really have, so I want to be able to use it and share it with the world as much as I can, the best that I can.
If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?
I think I would go get ice cream with Alex from A Clockwork Orange. Pralines and cream…give us something to chew on to distract ourselves from the awkwardness.
If your story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?
Every time I am asked this question, I tell people with a straight face that the only woman who is ever allowed to play me or any character based off of me is Kate Beckinsale. They always laugh, but I’m serious. But since the young lady in “When the Goatman Comes” is probably too young to be played by her, I’d go with Abigail Breslin. She’s growing up to have quite a bit of style and attitude, which I think would match the character’s pluckiness. As for the Goatman, I think it would have to be somebody with a lot of presence and a menacing voice…maybe Alexander Skarsgard, or Bryan Cranston. Depends on how truly weird we’d want the live action version of the story to get.
Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?
I prefer all my supernatural beings sexy, at all times.
If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Lost in the Witching Hour

Lost in the Witching Hour

This is a tough one, but I think I would travel to the old west during (or perhaps before) frontier times. I’d be fascinated to observe or be part of Native American life before the Europeans got in the way. I would also be interested, though, in examining how the Europeans who first went west coped with the conditions and forged a life for themselves.
What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?
Be kind to yourself.
Do you believe in faeries?
The names “fairy,” “gnome,” “elf,” “demon,” etc. are all attributed to certain beings or ideas based on our religious and cultural myths from around the world. We can say each word and conjure up a ready-made fairy tale image in our heads. I do believe, however, that these beings could be “real” based on what people have seen, experienced, and reported throughout time. But perhaps what we think of from illustrations and what those beings actually resemble are not necessarily the same. I don’t think I’ll see a fairy with gossamer wings dancing around any flower bushes any time soon, but maybe there is a supernatural (or natural!) being that behaves in a certain way that people, over the course of many hundreds of years, have come to designate as a “fairy” and developed that popular image from. Manatees don’t exactly look like mermaids, and we know they’ve been the culprits in many mistaken identities. So in short, my mind is open.
If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?
I would be a shapeshifter, because…shapeshifting.
Where do you write best?
Anywhere quiet with minimaThis Housel interruption. When I write, I concentrate so hard that hours go by and it’s as if I’ve blacked out or gotten “highway hypnosis” in front of my computer. I get deep in the zone, so I just need a space that allows for that. It could be at home at the kitchen table or at a local coffee shop, as long as the conditions are right.
What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?
I just finished reading the Ghosts of Gettysburg series. A friend gave it to me and even though I grew up an hour from Gettysburg and have explored there many times, I never took the time to sit down and read Mark Nesbitt’s books until now. The stories were compelling and historically informative. It was a somewhat nostalgic experience as well, since I grew up in Maryland and my parents now live in Pennsylvania, and I’ve been living in Chicago for almost seven years.
If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?
I’d love to write romance or erotica. I think it would be fun and it takes a very special talent that is highly underappreciated in the literary world. I’d probably also make a lot more money, but don’t get me started on that.
Where can fans find you online?
My website is www.ameliacotter.com and I am on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Amazon. The third edition of my first book, This House: The True Story of a Girl and a Ghost, was just released by Breaking Fate Publishing, and I encourage ghost story fans to check it out! Folks can also email me at AmeliaMCotter@gmail.com. I always love to connect with people.
Leave a Reply

