Interview with Robert DiBella

me color

Tell us about your publishing journey…

I really started writing when I took a playwriting class when I was a sophomore at Molloy College. I meet a bunch of writers through that class and the theater program there. When I was writing my novel one of my friends at Molloy, Pat Shands got a short story published through Rainstorm. He gave me Lyle’s information and told me that Rainstorm was looking for new good books. I submitted a query letter and the first three chapters to Rainstorm and they picked it up.

What part of being a writer do you love most?

I love being able to create different stories and characters. I find writing very therapeutic because I feel like I learn something every time my charters confront a problem.

Which part do you hate most?

Proofreading! I am terrible speller and was never great at grammar. Sometimes when I finish writing a page on a word doc. It’s all underline red and green like a Christmas tree.

What inspired you to write Memoir of a Variable?

The idea came to me when I was writing a three minute film for my friend. I wanted to further develop the concept so I turned it into a forty-five page screen play called “X”. I loved writing about the characters and the plot was very currant and had potential so one night in college I began writing the manuscript.

What life advice have you been given, that you wished someone had given you sooner?

Don’t rush things. I tend to be very impatient when I’m working on a project. I’m trying now to take things slower and look over my work more closely before sending it out and developing it further.

If you could be part of a secret service agency (MI6, CIA etc.) which would it be and what would you do for them?

My dream job would be a double O agent for MI-6. I would drive fast cars, drink Martini’s, wear expensive suits and save the world.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I would invite Gandalf the grey over my house for left over Chinese food. I think he would be a really cool guy to just hang out with.

Who are your favorite authors and why?

My favorite authors would be Tom Clancy and Jeffery Deaver I love how they keep you guessing throughout the story and keep challenging their characters over and over again.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently working on the sequel to my novel “Ten Names” (working title) I’m hoping it will be out early 2014.

Final Cover Art

Leave a Reply

