Interview with Vicki L. Weavil

Vicki Weavil 11Tell us about your publishing journey…

All my life I’d said, “Someday I’ll write a book,” but while I’d written a good bit of poetry and some short stories over the years, I’d never finished a novel. So in the fall of 2011 I decided I should write one novel, just to prove to myself I could.

That goal turned into an adult science fiction novel and its sequel (the first two books in a trilogy) and while those two manuscripts are currently “on the shelf,” they did give me the impetus to write my third book, which became CROWN OF ICE.

I wrote and edited CROWN in the fall of 2012 (long before I knew that there was going to be a film called FROZEN, by the way) and began querying it in January 2013. At that time I also entered a few contests, such as the twitter pitch contest, PitMAD. While I did receive several partial and full requests from regular querying, it was the contests that connected me to my agent, Jennifer Mishler of Literary Counsel. She requested a partial that turned into a full and then an offer of representation. Another contest brought CROWN to the attention of my publisher, Month9Books, who offered on the book at the time I was talking to Jennifer. So it all came together in the spring of 2013!

By the way, Month9Books just acquired my Young Adult Scifi, FACSIMILE, and its sequel in a two book deal, so you will see more of my books coming out over the next few years. 

What do you love about being an author?

I love the ability to create characters and worlds and actually share them with others. It’s a unique opportunity to express my thoughts and feelings—in a format that forces me to reexamine them. I’ve learned so much through reading; I just hope one of my books will someday touch another person’s heart and mind the way so many books have touched mine. 

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

It would have to be Francis Crawford from the Lymond Chronicles – an amazing six book historical series written by Dorothy Dunnett. (First book in the series is titled GAME OF KINGS). Francis is my ultimate brilliant, talented, attractive, book boyfriend!

Since I don’t eat beef, pork, or chicken, I’d have to say we’d share a seafood feast, accompanied by some lovely vegetables. And chocolate. There must always be chocolate. And wine! 

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I always have trouble with this question because I’d actually prefer “unknown” actors to be cast. (Well-trained actors, but nobody famous). On my Pinterest board for CROWN OF ICE, I do use some photos of actors, but that is more based on appearance than the total package of appearance, voice, etc. However, feel free to check it out — http://www.pinterest.com/vickilweavil/crown-of-ice/ 

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

I like monsters to be monsters, so I prefer the blood hungry versions. The original Nosferatu is still one of the best vampire films, in my opinion. I do understand the attraction of the sexy immortal, but I still want a real edge of horror with my vampires, because otherwise they are just humans who live a long, long time (and can’t accompany me to the beach on a sunny day). 

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?17925759

Oh, so many… As a lover of art, I think visiting Italy during the Renaissance would be amazing, but I also love Fin de Siècle Paris (for the same reason).  I guess I’d really just like to be The Doctor’s next companion and travel throughout all time and space in the TARDIS. (Surely that can be arranged??) 

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Don’t let fear of failure keep you from trying.

I’ve always been something of a perfectionist, so I used to avoid doing things if I thought there was a strong chance I might fail. However, there was a turning point in my life where I decided to attempt something regardless of the consequences, and it is one of the best things I ever did. After that, I was willing to take more chances—like trying to get published! I wasn’t so afraid of failing anymore, because I’d learned failure is not forever, and that, in the end, it is more disappointing not to try. 

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A mermaid, because I’ve always loved swimming and the water and wouldn’t mind living in the sea (if I could breathe underwater, of course!) 

Where do you write best? 

I need to be working on my computer, at a desk, and by myself. Everything else is negotiable. 

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I just finished reading BOY, SNOW, BIRD by Helen Oyeyemi. It’s listed as a fairytale retelling, but it really just pulls motifs from the story of Snow White while examining other issues, such as family, race, and gender identity. Brilliantly written, if a little distant in tone, it’s well worth a read. 

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I adore adult mysteries—particularly those with complex characters and psychological aspects, like those written by Ruth Rendell (who also writes as Barbara Vine) and P.D. James. I love their examination of the human condition and the fallacies (and strengths) of human nature. Unfortunately, I’m not sure my writing skill set is a good fit with the mystery genre. However—referencing that “not fearing failure” thing—I may attempt it someday!

Where can fans find you online?

 

Website/blog: http://vickilempweavil.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/VickiLWeavil

Author Page on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/VickiLempWeavil?ref=hl

Tumblr: http://vickilweavil.tumblr.com/

and http://snowqueenthyra.tumblr.com/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7091425.Vicki_Lemp_Weavil

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/vickilweavil/

 Buy Links for CROWN OF ICE:

 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Crown-Ice-Vicki-L-Weavil-ebook/dp/B00LKBSZBY/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=8-1&qid=1410869923

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/crown-of-ice-vicki-l-weavil/1119979004?ean=9781939765437

ITunes:  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/crown-of-ice/id896773524?mt=11

Indigo:  http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/crown-of-ice/9781939765437-item.html?ikwid=crown+of+ice&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=0

Kobo:  http://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/books/crown-of-ice/TYxtxGO0Wk2aWMcYVbPcYA?MixID=TYxtxGO0Wk2aWMcYVbPcYA&PageNumber=1

 

 

One comment on “Interview with Vicki L. Weavil

Leave a Reply

