Interview with L.M. Justus

authorphotoTell us about your publishing journey…

I wrote my first book (The Mastery of Mind over Matter) as part of NaNoWriMo, a challenge to write a short novel in one month. I self-published it because I wanted a copy of my book that looked and felt like a real book, but I never promoted it because frankly, no one can write a goodbook in one month. My next book was something I put together for my kids and again, I never meant for it to appeal to the masses. The first book of the Darkness Trilogy, Welcome to the Darkness, is something I spent a lot of time on, and I had it reviewed by my critique group and beta readers. I did hope to appeal to the masses with this one, and so far I’m very pleased with its success, as well as the second book in the series, Darkness Reigns. 

What do you love about being an author?

I love getting all these stories out of my head! Once I get them written down, they stop whirling around in my brain stuck on repeat. Hearing praise from fans is the best thing ever and makes the whole journey worthwhile. 

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I’m going to have to go with Lestat from Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. He seems like someone who wouldn’t mind talking about themselves…a lot. I’m not particularly chatty (unless I’ve consumed some form of alcohol) so it would have to be with someone talkative. I’d probably order a steak, medium rare, and of course some red wine. Hopefully Lestat would have something (or someone!) to eat besides me, ha.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?17833943

That’s a tough one because two of the three main characters are fairly young and I’m not too familiar with actors in that age range. As for the third main character, can I make Ian Somerhalder play Nathaniel? I might have a thing for him. Maybe. ;)

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Um, do they have to be one or the other? Yep, sexy, blood hungry monsters – that’s exactly how I like them, ha ha! 

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’d way rather go forward in time than back, but I guess if I had to go back I’d revisit the 80s. Awesome music and fun fashion – good times. 

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Don’t feel like you have to maintain toxic relationships. Also, don’t wait to let the people you DO care about know how much you value their relationship.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I suppose a vampire seems like the obvious choice for me, but I think I’d rather be a Kryptonian like Superman. Now there’s someone with kick-ass powers! 

Where do you write best? 

I do all my writing on my laptop in bed. I really need zero distractions or the writing doesn’t happen.

20426233What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Hmm, well the last book I was reading I DNF’d, but the one before that was Frozen by Erin Bowman, and the one before that was The Young World by Chris Weitz. I read 2 or 3 books a week, and that was a good week because I really enjoyed both of those. Loving the dystopian stuff lately.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

If I weren’t writing fantasy, I’d do sci-fi. Those are the only two genres I’m interested in, I’m not sure why. I just find other genres boring.

Where can fans find you online?

My author website: http://www.lmjustus.com, on Twitter: @lmjustus, on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LMJustusAuthor, on Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7058443.L_M_Justus

On Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/L.-M.-Justus/e/B00EA9UJXA/

Leave a Reply

