Interview with Anne Hope

Anne Hope webTell us about your publishing journey…

I’ve been a storyteller my whole life, but I only started writing with the intent of publication about fifteen years ago. In 2001, my book Where Dreams Are Made—then entitled Finding Home— placed in RWA’s Golden Heart Contest.

Unfortunately for me, that was around the time chick lit exploded onto the scene. Everyone was looking for light-hearted, humorous books, while I was pedaling a dark, deeply emotional story. Not only was the market not receptive to my type of book, but I’d also just given birth to my son, so writing took a back seat to motherhood. Then two years later my daughter was born, and I had to delay my dream of publication a little longer.

In 2007, when my kids started going to school full-time, I decided to brush off my keyboard and revise my Golden Heart finalist and start submitting again. The market had done a complete one-eighty, and dark stories were popular again, so I figured I had nothing to lose. I was right. Two weeks after submitting the manuscript to Samhain, I got an offer.

To date, I’ve published a total of six books with Samhain, two romantic suspense novels (Where Dreams Are Made and Broken Angels) and my paranormal Dark Souls series (Soul Bound, Soul Deep, Soul Thief and Soul Chase). I’ve also self-published a humorous paranormal novella, The Seduction of Evelyn Hyde, on Amazon.

What do you love about being an author?

The perfect answer to this question is a conversation I had with my husband once.

Him: “Today was rough. I spent the day fixing things that were damaged by the windstorm.”

Me: “Really? Today, I survived a helicopter crash, got chased by some really nasty bad guys, and ended up making a truck explode.”

Him: “I want your job.”

 If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?SoulDeep300

Mr. Darcy. We’d have barbequed ribs. It would be fun to see such a dignified character eat with his hands, right before he becomes dessert!

 If your books were to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Jace: Jensen Ackles, definitely! Jace reminds me a lot of Dean from Supernatural. He gives off the same rough, bad-boy vibe.

Lia: Julianne Hough. She’s got the blond hair and blue eyes. I can picture her playing the introverted Lia.

Regan: Emma Stone, with her flaming red hair and the attitude she had in Zombieland.

Marcus: Henry Cavill. He’s got the right intensity. He looks honorable and tortured, two qualities that characterize Marcus.

Adrian: Ian Somerhalder. With those hypnotic blue eyes of his, he can easily compel someone to commit murder.

Angelica/Emma: Rachel McAdams. Like Angie/Emma, she’s both beautiful and sweet. She also seems very empathetic, which makes her a good choice for this character.

Cal: Chris Hemsworth. He’s tall, blond and powerful, like Cal. We’ve already seen him play an alien, why not a fallen angel?

 Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads. The whole appeal of vampires is their dark charisma, as opposed to zombies, for instance. What makes vampires truly frightening is their ability to seduce their victims, to lure their prey rather than hunt it. It’s an interesting contradiction, the idea that—beneath all that civilized charm—beats the heart of a monster.

SoulBound300If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

The eighties. As corny as they were, I miss them.

 What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Nothing. I think advice is overrated. In my opinion, the best way to learn is through experience.

 If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A witch. Not the evil kind, though. I’d simply wave my magic wand and make nice things happen. One wave of the wand and my kids’ homework would be done. Another wave and the house would be clean. If someone viciously cuts me off in traffic, however, all bets are off. I’d make them regret it, Wicked Witch of the West style!

 Where do you write best? 

At home, in my cluttered office. My most productive writing time is in the morning, after my husband leaves for work and I’m done dropping the kids off at school. The house is so quiet, you can hear a pin drop (or in my case, my muse whispering softly in my ear).

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was Once More, My Darling Rogue by Lorraine Heath. I find it refreshing to read outside my genre, so every so often I opt for a YA or a historical romance.

The premise of this book attracted me. The hero fishes the stuck up heroine out of the Thames, only to discover she has amnesia. Since she’s spent most of her life looking down on him and ordering him around, he sees it as the perfect opportunity for revenge, so he tells her she’s his servant. What follows is an interesting, tension-filled romance between two scarred individuals who are finally learning to let their guard down, in the presence of their sworn enemy!

What I like best about this book is that the characters are multi-layered. Neither is what he or she first appears to be. The love story also builds gradually, which makes it all the more believable.

 If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?SoulChase300

I’d probably be writing thrillers or horror novels. I’m a big fan of Dean Koontz. I enjoy books with intricate plots, dark, compelling characters, and many scary surprises along the way.

 Where can fans find you online?

 Fans can find me on my website and on social media.

Website: http://www.AnneHope.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/annehopeauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AnneHopeAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/772411.Anne_Hope

 Buy links (Dark Souls series):

Samhain (e-book): http://store.samhainpublishing.com/soul-bound-p-6868.html

Samhain (paperback): http://store.samhainpublishing.com/soul-bound-p-72849.html

Amazon.com (e-book): http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Bound-Dark-Souls-ebook/dp/B007HCWHAK/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1412010070&sr=8-3&keywords=soul+bound

Amazon.com (paperback): http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Bound-Dark-Souls-Anne/dp/1619211394/ref=la_B002BO9RXE_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1389802388&sr=1-3

Amazon.ca (e-book): http://www.amazon.ca/Soul-Bound-Dark-Souls-Book-ebook/dp/B007HCWHAK/ref=sr_1_32?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1389829505&sr=1-32

Amazon.ca (paperback): http://www.amazon.ca/Soul-Bound-Anne-Hope/dp/1619211394/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1389829465&sr=8-2&keywords=soul+bound

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/soul-bound-anne-hope/1109483160?ean=9781609289485

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-CA/ebook/soul-bound-1

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/soul-bound/id508169670?mt=11

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Anne_Hope_Soul_Bound?id=ip6dZg1A68MC

 

One comment on “Interview with Anne Hope

Leave a Reply

