Interview with Deborah Jay

author photoTell us about your publishing journey…

Ooh, big topic…

I wrote my first book aged 8 years old, but began the journey seriously while I was at University. I had two books under my belt before I produced something I considered worthy of publication, but after the publishing company I’d aimed at folded just as I was ready to submit, I started over again.

The Prince’s Man was the result, set in the world I’d created for the previous story, and at that time a traditional publishing contract was the only way. I submitted it to a UK Arts Board contest, and it won! Next, it went to an agent, and she took it on immediately!

I thought that would be it; dreams of paperbacks on shelves, publishing parties and signings spun around my head, gradually dissolving as weeks stretched into months and no deal appeared.

Eventually all the major publishers turned it down, and that was that (so I thought). I went the route of trying a second agent – again, no problem getting the agent, but still no sale.

While this was all going on, I’d got a gig writing for a magazine, and had two non-fiction books (on horse training) published, but my fiction was going nowhere.

Finally I discovered the indie revolution.

I’d written another novel by then (Desprite Measures), and although I had (yet another) agent interested in thDesprite MeasuresEBOOKat one, I’d had enough, so I spent a year learning the ropes, and in July last year (2013) I launched Prince’s Man as a self-published novel, and it shot straight into the Amazon Top 100 New Releases in Fantasy, and stayed there for as long as it was eligible, with Desprite Measures coming out 6 months later.

What do you love about being an author?

My imagination has always been hugely demanding, and being an author allows me to get all those stories running around inside my head out, and in front of readers. I was born a storyteller, and being able to share my tales is the ultimate satisfaction.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

James Bond, although I’d be checking over my shoulder every few seconds in case I didn’t live through the experience. Obviously, caviar for starter, and then for me, chicken, always chicken.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I’ve only really thought about this for Prince’s Man, so here goes: Aiden Turner (dwarf prince, Kili, in The Hobbit) would make a gorgeous Rustam Chalice, and Holiday Grainger (Lucrezia in The Borgias) would be perfect for the aristocratic Lady Risada.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Sexy leads, with a dangerous edge.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Not that far, actually. I think the 1920s for the elegance, innovation and joie de vivre!

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Don’t save for a rainy day, enjoy life while you can.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d have to opt for an elemental, which is probably why I write about one.

PM-EBOOK_FLAT (2)Where do you write best? 

Tucked away in my home office with music on, so there’s nothing to distract me.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

WICKEDLY DANGEROUS by Deborah Blake. I’ve read and really enjoyed Deborah’s indie published books, but this is her first traditional book, a new take on the Russian folk tale, ‘Baba Yaga’. It was a fun, easy read with delightful characters, and a satisfying plot with a neat little twist. I really loved Baba’s dragon Chudo Yudo, who lives in her Airstream trailer disguised as a huge dog, and is frequently heard to ask if he can eat the people who annoy Baba. 

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

The murder/mystery genre, because I love trying to figure out who dunnit. Sadly I know I’m not disciplined enough to do the construction work needed on the plot before setting out to write.

Where can fans find you online?

My website is at: www.deborahjayauthor.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DeborahJay2

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DeborahJay

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/debbylush/

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7172608.Deborah_Jay

Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Deborah-Jay/e/B00E4X3UHY/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

Leave a Reply

