Interview with: Kat Flannery

Kat-Flannery-300x200Tell us about your publishing journey…

Well, it is not over. My journey as a writer started when I was 24. I had babies at home, was sleep deprived and hadn’t seen a good hair day in months when the urge to write hit me. I’ve always loved to write. My dream job when I was a little girl was to be journalist. However, I wrote for fun, as a hobby and I enjoyed releasing the voices inside of my head. At 24 however, the urge never left. It only intensified until I knew something was missing in my life and writing was it.

I decided to enrol in writing classes and I loved it. I then went on to take my business writing and freelance writing courses online. Once I finished those I continued to write. I knew if I wanted to make it as a published author I’d have to first be published in other periodicals and for the next three years I worked hard at accomplishing that. It wasn’t long after that my first book, Chasing Clovers came into my head. Once I completed it, I decided to research the industry. I did this for months before sending out queries and synopsis. Then the rejections came with a few offers to change my character. With each rejection I went over the book fixing this and that. It wasn’t until two years later that I signed on with Imajin Books and I’ve never looked back.

What do you love about being an author?Blood-Curse-Cover-199x300

To be able to write the stories that are in my head and see them in print is a huge success for any author. But the most rewarding thing for me is when readers email me about my books. That is amazing.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Oh, damn this is hard. I have so many I’d love to chat with. I can’t narrow these down to one person. I have a list of fictional characters a mile long I’d love to meet. But the first that comes to mind is Scarlet O’Hara and the why is because she’d keep the conversation going. We’d probably dine on something southern.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I am asked this with all of my novels so I am prepared. For my lead character Kade Walker, Chris Hemsworth when he has his long hair and Scarlet Johansen as Pril Peddler.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Actually both. I think it is important to portray them for who they are. Everyone has a bad side.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Being a historical writer I’d love to go back to the 1800’s, 1700’s, 1600’s etc. But if I had one choice I’d choose, England in the 1500’s because I loved the dress and their way of life.

WLakota-Honor-Cover-199x300hat life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Silence is sometimes best.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Oh this is a tough one. Hmmmm. I’d be invisible. Only because I’m an introvert and I sometimes wish I was.

Where do you write best? 

At my kitchen table with a foot heater and candles.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I read so many books and since I was just on a two-month hiatus I read a bunch of them. Hmmm….Johanna Lindsey’s One Heart to Win. I found the beginning a bit slow but once I got passed the first three chapters I was invested.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why? 

Historical is my main genre and if I couldn’t write that, I’d be writing contemporary.

Where can fans find you online?

Visit Kat at: www.katflannerybooks.com

Find her on Facebook: Kat Flannery, author

Follow her on Twitter: @KatFlannery1

Thank you for having me on your blog today!

2014-BloodCurseTourBanner

 

One comment on “Interview with: Kat Flannery

  1. Pingback: Dark World Books | Blood Curse Tour

Leave a Reply

