Interview with Stuart Conover

sccgTell us about your publishing journey...

One thing I loved in high school was my creative writing classes. I let
that taper off as I went into college though through most of my academic
career I was writing columns for online magazines. About five years back
my wife to be and I were having a conversation about what we were really
passionate about and I realized writing was my answer. She basically threw
me back into writing and since that time have had multiple short stories
published and the first draft a novel now about 90% complete.

What do you love about being an author?

I love not only creating new worlds but finding people who enjoy visiting
them! While the first time I was published was one of the highlights of my
writing, when I had someone reach out to me and share that they enjoyed
the story it was what helped drive me to continue on.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and
what would you eat?

Hannibal Lecter and something vegetarian unless we had someone else
preparing it. Seriously though it would probably be Gandalf from a certain
fantasy trilogy or two that you may have heard of. Something involving a
ring. At any rate he seems like someone that would be all about hanging
out over a gigantic filling meal and a couple of cold ones where he could
tell grand stories about the past that are delightful to here as well as
put on a fireworks show while he's at it. The bonus is at the end he could
probably magically take care of any excess fat/sugar/carbs you are trying
to keep out of your diet!

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

While my first novel is not yet complete I do have a strong female lead
who I kind of picture as Jennifer Lawrence as well as an ongoing character
in multiple shorts and the novel that could be easily portrayed by Michael
Fassbender. The overly confident Fassbender where he is playing Magneto in
the 'X-Men' films that is.

As a horror writer you are looking to scare readers - what scares you?

Oh that's a tough one. Most of what I can say scares me would be loss or
things that don't really exist such as giant spiders and other such fun
monsters.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Oh the future, absolutely the future. First off to find a way to extend my
life and second off to bring back some winning lotto numbers in order to
give myself a very long and comfortable life that could be better spent
writing than having to work the 9-5 ;)

What life advice do you wish you'd been given sooner?

Write. Write every day!

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

That is a tough one. As much as I would hate not getting around during the
day or being able to have actual food again, I would say a vampire due to
the longevity and depending on which vampire the bonuses of flight, mind
control, super strength, etc!

Where do you write best?

Where I write best is in front of my duel monitor setup in my own office
chair, all of which I haven't had for the past 2 years. Where I actually
write due to not having time outside of it at the moment is on the train
to and from work.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

While the description didn't do anything for me, on the advice of a friend
I recently sat down and read The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell and am
absolutely glad that I did! I was a huge fan of the writing and think he
did a great job at bringing the story together.

If you didn't write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Hands down science fiction. I grew up on a steady diet of horror, science
fiction, and fantasy. Science fiction has always thrown out the most
interesting concepts of the three and to creatively come up with feasible
technology sounds like a fun challenge that I'd love to do more of.

Where can fans find you online?

I can be found on a few places!
Homepage: http://www.StuartConover.com
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/StuartConover
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stuartconoverauthor
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5418565.Stuart_Conover
Amazon Author Page:
http://www.amazon.com/Stuart-Conover/e/B0082MSIFC/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1413915353&sr=8-2

state-of-horror-illinois
Leave a Reply

