Interview with Kimber Leigh Wheaton

MS-1022 - Copy (2)Tell us about your publishing journey…

It’s still ongoing… I originally thought that I wanted an agent and to go the traditional route, so I spent lots of time and energy on the query-go-round with agents—partial requests, full requests—but no rep offers. After researching publishing contracts, I realized that traditional might not be for me. My manuscript was accepted by several small presses, which seemed to be closer to what I needed. I picked one that I felt fit me and my book the best.

I also wanted to try out self-publishing, and I started a company called Sea Dragon Press to self-publish. I like self-publishing because I have complete say over everything. But marketing is a huge cost and challenge.

Now I’m thinking maybe I do need to get an agent since I could really use the advice and support. I’m considering sending my novel-in-waiting, Bitter Envy, out to agents. Only time will tell.

What do you love about being an author?

I love using my overactive imagination for something other than daydreaming. There’s something very satisfying about seeing my ideas come to life in a story. I love developing characters, watching them change and grow throughout the story.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Life has been dreadfully dull lately… perhaps dinner with the Mad Hatter would liven things up. As for the fTorturedSouls_1600x2400ood, well I would definitely serve coffee, just to make things interesting. And I suppose we could have chocolate ‘unbirthday’ cakes.

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I’m going to use Tortured Souls for this question since I’ve always pictured the characters in Shadow Fire & Stolen Moon as anime.

Nicola Peltz as Kacie

Lucas Till as Logan

Liam James as Daniel

Nathan Kress as Carl

Chloe Grace Moretz as Rebecca

Elizabeth Gillies as Raven

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Blood-hungry monsters, no question. I love vampires, but prefer them as villains. I can accept a vampire as a sexy lead as long as he/she isn’t turned into a mushy mess by his/her love for the hero/heroine. I won’t go vegan for a guy, so why should a vampire give up eating people… surely they can feed without killing their prey.

AC_StolenMoon_1600x2400If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Such a difficult question! I think I’d like to go back to the Middle Ages, dress up as a noblewoman, and attend a Tournament. I’ve always been fascinated by knights and chivalry. I think it would be interesting to witness it firsthand.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Life is too short to live with woulda, coulda, shoulda. Live in the moment, plan for the future. Learn from the past, but don’t dwell there.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d like to be a shapeshifter, preferably one not tied to the lunar cycle. I love animals. It would be great to shift forms and take off running into the forest. Also when someone pissed me off, I could shift into my animal form and scare the crap out of them.

Where do you write best?

Alone in my bedroom, surrounded by my pets. I also like to write outside on my deck in cooler weather.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I just finished Ghosts of Christmas Past by Jessica Aspen. It was a cute, gothic novella with a sweet love story. Two lost, broken souls find each other while investigating a haunting. I enjoyed the story, but didn’t dig the insta-love—a day and a half, maybe two days and presto, Love. I loved the ghost and the glimpses into the past but wish the paranormal investigation had been a tad deeper.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

Well, I write in multiple genres: paranormal, fantasy, urban fantasy, and romantic suspense. I think I’d like to give YA contemporary a try. It would be nice to write about a normal high school girl without any monsters or demons pursuing her.

Where can fans find you online?

I feature and review YA & NA books at Once Upon a YA Book http://onceuponayabook.blogspot.com

 You can read more about my books and writing, as well as other featured authors on

Kimber Leigh Writes

http://www.kimberleighwheaton.com

 Or you can stalk me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, or Amazon

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7885752.Kimber_Leigh_Wheaton

https://www.facebook.com/KimberLeighWheaton

https://twitter.com/Cymberle

http://www.amazon.com/Kimber-Leigh-Wheaton/e/B00IN498L2/

Shadow Fire Cover

One comment on “Interview with Kimber Leigh Wheaton

Leave a Reply

