Book Review: The Boy in the Cemetery by Sebastian Gregory

23377825Synopsis:

This is the story of a girl who didn’t want to live…

Carrie Anne is desperately unhappy. Tangled in a web of abuse, she seeks solace in the cemetery that backs onto her garden. But something creeps between the gravestones. Carrie Anne is not alone

…and a boy who cannot die.

The cemetery is home to a boy. He has guarded these forgotten bones since meeting a gruesome end two hundred years ago. Neither dead nor alive, he has been watching for a long time. And now, he finally has the visitor he’s been waiting for…

About the Author:

Everything you want to know about Sebastian, but were afraid to ask here in my interview with him – + really scary photo.

My Review:

I’ve always been accused of having a very dark mind, so it’s refreshing and downright lovely to read another book born of Sebastian Gregory’s incredibly dark mind!

The story was engrossing and quite horrific, but at the same time tragically heart-felt. I don’t want to say too much about the story and ruin it, but I will say that it was littered with beautiful turns of phrase and images that will stick to your imagination – whether you want them to or not.

From a writer’s perspective, both the story and writing were perfect, yet again. I would have liked it to have been longer, but that is more because I’m a greedy reader and didn’t want it to end rather than a criticism – talking as a writer, it was probably just the right length as it flowed really well and I didn’t come across scenes that felt like pointless padding.

The front cover is great – it has both a dark and childlike quality to it and will appeal to both male and female readers.

Overall, I’d give The Boy in the Cemetery 5 out of 5 stars, come on Sebastian, I’ve read all three of your books now, you need to write faster!

 

2 comments on “Book Review: The Boy in the Cemetery by Sebastian Gregory

  1. This looks awesome. I tweeted, shared, and reblogged on all my sites. I am also adding it to my christmas list of books I want :)

Leave a Reply

