Interview with A.L. Butcher

LBTS Book ITell us about your publishing journey…

Hi and thanks for the interview. I’m primarily a dark fantasy author but I’ve also written horror, poetry, short stories and general fantasy.  I’ve been a writer for as long as I can remember – I was usually the one writing for the school display. I never really thought it would go beyond that, if I am honest.  The first novel sprung from something I’d written for an RPG, which was adapted and expanded. I’ve run and planned role play games for a while, including a vampire based on, and have folders of adventures, which might get adapted. OK yes I am a geek…. The recent horror stories – which feature in Tales from Darker Places – came from a ‘Jack the Ripper’ story I’d written for something else. I read a lot of true crime and that particular set of murders I find interesting – at least all the theories. The vampire story grew from a character idea – the bored, disillusioned vigilante vampire.  Wolfgang will appear again, in other short stories and may yet be expanded.

What do you love about being an author?

Creating new worlds and new peopleJ. I love to read as well, but there is something wonderful about creating a story. Storytelling is so important to us – it helps us learn, to explore the fantastic and to be free.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Ohh, that’s a tricky one. I’m not sure I could pick just one…. I think I’d go for Odysseus to discuss his adventures and heroism; Dr Frankenstein to discuss science and human nature; Erik, the Phantom of the Opera, to discuss his music and inner beauty; Heathcliff to discuss love and tragedy; Aragon to discuss leadership and Tempus from Sacred Band to discuss courage, and war in human society.

What would we eat? Italian or Thai food probably, or something with tons of cheese…

If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?Book 2 Ebook

Sir Ian McKellen as Archos, perhaps.

Luke Evans as Olek.

Emma Watkins as Ozena.

Keira Knightly or Evengeline Lilly as Dii.

For the horror – Luke Evans as Wolfgang.

The Jack the Ripper Story – Ray Winstone.

 

As a horror writer you are looking to scare readers – what scares you?

Clowns, dolls, puppets, ventriloquists, enclosed spaces, crowds.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Ancient Rome – I love the mythology. Renaissance or Industrial Revolution – I love the emerging science and the forging of the modern world.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Live for the fun things, the things which make you happy. Life’s too short for crap. 

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A dragon – because I could do what the hell I likedJ and dragons are cool.

Or a naiad. J

erana banner

Where do you write best? 

Usually in the armchair with the massage capabilitiesJ I have a problem with my back so I write on the laptop as it is easier than sitting at the PC. 

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

A couple of true crime books which I’ve read before. I’ve also just finished Inconvenient People: Lunacy, Liberty and Mad Doctors in Victorian England.  It’s a fascinating non-fiction book about madness and those who were wrongly accused of it. Not an easy read but it does give a good insight into attitudes of the day.  The last novel I read was Poets in Hell, part of the shared universe of Heroes in Hell, by Janet and Chris Morris. It’s a lot of fun, as well as dark and delightful. 

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

As I said I write fantasy as well as horror, plus poetry. I’m planning some historical fantasy at a later date. I read a lot of historical fiction and as a fan of history I’d love to combine dark fantasy and history. 

Where can fans find you online?

I have a blog which features info about the books, plus articles, interviews with authors, readers, editors, audio book narrators and a wide variety of characters. http://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6430414.A_L_Butcher

 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alexandra-Butcher/e/B008BQFCC6/

Twitter:@libraryoferana

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DarkFantasyBeyondTheStorm

Darker Places Banner

 

2 comments on “Interview with A.L. Butcher

Leave a Reply

