Interview with Marlene Wynn

Professional-Head-Shot1 Tell us about your publishing journey…

  • Like any author, I went back and forth between traditional and self publishing for quite some time. After doing A LOT of research, I finally came to the decision that I wanted to self publish.  Why?  Because I didn’t like the thought of asking strangers over and over ad nauseum if they liked my book, possibly waiting for months (or years) for them to (a) make time to read my book, and (b) decide if they actually like it or not, losing almost all rights (and say) to the book that I wrote, and losing a major chunk of the royalties to said book.  Add to that the the e-book revolution has brought a major blow to the traditionally published businesses, and it made my decision to self publish almost laughingly easy.  I’ve never looked back.
  • What do you love about being an author?
    • I love the creativity, putting together the intricate storylines, creating the characters and their good (and bad) points.  But most of all, I love seeing the end result!
  • If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?
    • I think it would be Jean-Luc Picard from Star Trek NG. What a fascinating character he is!  Think of all the places he has seen, all the people (human or otherwise) he has met.  Think of listening to all of the challenging situations he has been in and discovering what he and his crew had to do to stay alive!  That would be a dinner to remember!
  • If your book was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?Chandrea
    • Chandrea: Victoria Justice
    • Leilah: Lana Parilla
    • Ayden: Chris Hemsworth
    • Denae: Emma Watson
    • Ian: Zac Effron
    • Shawn: Derek Hough
  • Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?
    • Definitely sexy leads. I’m not much on the dark, blood hungry monster angle.
  • If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?
    • Why limit it to a time here on Earth? If I had a time machine, wouldn’t it stand to reason that it could go anywhere at any time?  What if it had the power to take me to fictional worlds where I could meet my favorite characters?  I’d love to go meet Gandalf and Frodo, or Harry Dresden and Karrin Murphy, or Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell.  Now THAT would be fun! J
  • What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?
    • Believe in yourself…yes, you CAN write!
  • If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?
    • A shapeshifter. How cool would that be?  To become anything you want at any time.  Think of all the fun (and trouble) you could get into!
  • Where do you write best? 
    • In my room with the door shut and soft music playing in the background.
  • What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?
    • The Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz. Very unusual lead character and a very interesting read.  Some of the situations Odd finds himself in are…well…very odd.  LOL
  • Where can fans find you online?

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22605642-chandrea—the-return-of-the-avatar-queen?from_search=true

AvatarQueenTourBanner

One comment on “Interview with Marlene Wynn

Leave a Reply

