Book Review: Anomaly (Schrodinger’s Consortium #1) by Tonya Kuper

Anomaly 1600pxSynopsis:

Reality is only an illusion.
Except for those who can control it…

Worst. Birthday. Ever.
My first boyfriend dumped me – happy birthday, Josie!- my dad is who knows where, I have some weird virus that makes me want to hurl, and now my ex is licking another girl’s tonsils. Oh, and I’m officially the same age as my brother was when he died. Yeah, today is about as fun-filled as the swamps of Dagobah. But then weird things start happening…

Like I make something materialize just by thinking about it.
When hot badass Reid Wentworth shows up on a motorcycle, everything changes. Like, everything. Who I am. My family. What really happened to my brother. Existence. I am Oculi, and I have the ability to change reality with my thoughts. Now Reid, in all his hotness, is charged with guiding and protecting me as I begin learning how to bend reality. And he’s the only thing standing between me and the secret organization that wants me dead…

About the Author:

Tonya Kuper’s debut, ANOMALY, the first in the Schrodinger’s Consortium young adult scifi trilogy, releases November 2014 by Entangled Teen. She lives in Omaha, NE with her two rad boys and husband, is a music junkie, and a chocolate addict. Star Wars & Sherlock fan.

http://tonyakuper.com/

My Review:

YA fiction is really starting to evolve now. Since Twilight made reading cool for teens again, there’s been a tonne of authors trying to capture that crown, and most are using the same formula: girl having a crappy normal life, realises she’s not normal, falls in love with supernaturally inclined hottie – it all roughly works out in the end. Don’t forget the parental problems and the BFFs, then mix together and publish. Anomaly, although ticking some of those boxes, actually did it in an interesting way, making the book more of a stand-alone that a Twilight rip off (whether vampires are there nor not)

From a writer’s perspective, I must admit I really found it hard to like Josie. She was a nerd, which was great, but it felt like (especially in the first few pages) she was almost smacking us over head with that fact every other sentence. This can be a dangerous trait for a main character to have, as there will be some readers that feel an instant connection with her and get her ‘inside’ jokes, but others that won’t get what she’s talking about at all and so feel no connection. When it comes to writing characters, I call it the Marmite conundrum. If you pick a subjective and powerful tendency for your character, you either get readers loving them – or hating them – there is no in between. The perspectives did slide between Josie and Reid, and I found myself actually preferring his side of things, it was cleaner and more interesting as he had been in the plot longer (at the start of the book) The world itself was interesting, it took a few repeated terms for me to figure out what everything was, but that’s okay – better than a massive info dump to explain everything – which some authors do!

The front cover is very teen – and will definitely stand out on the virtual book shelf.

Overall, I’d give Anomaly, 3 out 5 stars – interesting concept and written well, just could have done with a more like-able protagonist (just my personal opinion)

anomaly banner new

One comment on “Book Review: Anomaly (Schrodinger’s Consortium #1) by Tonya Kuper

Leave a Reply

