Book Review: A Heart for Copper by Sharon Lynn Fisher

A Heart for CopperSynopsis:

A Heart for Copper by Sharon Lynn Fisher

Genre: Steampunk (sweet)

An automaton created by an inventor’s son, Copper has finally been given a heart by her young master. Her choice of whether to keep the key or give it to him will decide her fate in this steampunk fairy tale.

SilkWords is the go-to source for interactive romance and erotic fiction.

With gorgeous custom covers and a clean, sophisticated design, the SilkWords site offers a secure, upscale reading environment. In addition to content on their web site, they offer stories for purchase in the standard e-book formats.

SilkWords is owned and operated by a full-time mom with a background in genetics and an RWA RITA-nominated, multi-published sci-fi romance author.

Their technology guy and site designer was the founder of Microsoft Xbox Live.

SilkWords features two formats that allow readers to choose how the stories will proceed.

Pick Your Path:

Will she or won’t she? With which man (or woman) in which location? With Pick Your Path romance, you decide. Romance and branched fiction are made for each other, like picking your favorite flavor of ice cream…positions, partners, and paraphernalia, oh my!

Reader Vote:

Readers vote at choice points and decide how the story will continue. These stories are a great way for readers and authors to connect. It’s exciting to be part of a developing story! 

https://www.silkwords.com/

About the Author:5820827

I write stories for the geeky at heart — meaty mash-ups of sci-fi, suspense, and romance, with no apology for the latter. I live where it rains nine months of the year. And I have a strange obsession with gingers (down to my freaky orange cat).

I have two sci-fi romance novels published with Tor Books, and a third on the way. I also have a zombie-ish story, RED, in progress on Wattpad (free!).

For social media schtuff and links to more information about me and my writing, visit me at www.sharonlynnfisher.com.

My Review:

You had me at Automaton! I really love the choose your own adventure books. The problem is, reviewing them can be really difficult, as pace, plot and even character is not linear for all readers. What I would say though, is that I always seem to make the wrong or the safe decision in these books; it just shows me that, when it comes to love, I’m a bit of a Muppet!

From a writer’s perspective, it was great to have a steampunk adventure, and it was sweet and non-sexual in its content, that said this story has been lumped in with much more erotically charged books, which leaves it’s audience limited to adults. Perhaps there should be imprints in this brand so YA and NA readers can see them too. The banner below doesn’t exactly lend itself to sweet romance.

The front cover is okay, not overly exciting or steampunkish, apart from the man’s outfit. But I guess with the story being altered by reader variables, it’s hard to get the theme of a main story on there.

Overall, I’d give A Heart for Copper, 4 out of 5 stars, even when I choose the wrong paths, it was still exciting and well written.

Silk Words General Banner 851 x 315

Leave a Reply

