Interview with Eden Royce

Eden _b_W_ SmallTell us a bit about what you write and where you’ve been published…

I write mainly dark fantasy and horror, although I’ve published a romance novella or three. I’ve had stories published with Dark Oak Press, Sirens Call Publications, Blood Bound Books and a few other presses that are now defunct.  My most recent release, a short story collection called Spook Lights: Southern Gothic Horror and my novella “Containment” I self-published.

You can also find my work on Hellnotes.com where I review horror books and on GraveyardShiftSisters.com where I interview a female horror writer of color and review her latest work.

If you could elect any literary character as Prime Minister/ President – who would it be and why?

Jonathan Howard’s Johannes Cabal from the series of novels of the same name. Cabal’s intelligent, resourceful, and if he needs advice from someone who’s dead, he’s a necromancer.

Which TV series do you wish you’d come up with?

Most of the ones I can think of quickly are fantastic but short lived: Firefly, American Gothic, Brimstone. For longevity’s sake, I wish I’d come up with The Golden Girls. Great cast, memorable theme song, laughter, tears, and still in syndication.

If you were the author of your own life, what would be the next scene be?Spooklights_Small

I’d have to add some paranormal or fantasy elements.  Such as I find out I’m half djinn and need to master my new found powers or my emotions begin to affect the time-space continuum. Or I’d write myself a Dungeons and Dragons style quest to go on with four or five of my closest gaming friends. I really am such a geek.

What’s the best thing you’ve done so far this year and why?

My honeymoon.  No details on why. J

Zombies, meteors, nuclear war…How do you think the world is going to end?

Frightening as it is to say, I think we humans are going to be the cause of the end of the world. Some disastrous event will occur: maybe a food shortage in a first world country and in an attempt to save humanity, we’ll end up killing the entire human race.  Man, I hope I’m not Nostradamus.

That, or the movie Idiocracy will come true.

What was the last book you read and what were your thoughts on it?

The last book I read was Marrow by Tarryn Fisher. The friend of another author I know on Facebook recommended it. I read the synopsis and thought it looked like a good read, so I purchased the Kindle copy.  It was an amazing novel. The book took me so subtly through the twists and turns of the main character’s life and I was mad when it was time for me to go to bed each night and put it dowContainment_ADn. Margo was such a well thought out protagonist, one who’d gone through so much that I rooted for her to have a happy ending. I won’t say whether or not she does, because you need to read it. I was still thinking about Marrow days after I’d finished it.

Who’s your hero and why?

My grandmother.  She was tough and smart and never let anything get the best of her, even in a world that didn’t see her as the force of nature that she was. She’d give you the short off her back or a good talking to, depending on what you needed. She inspires a lot of my work.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’ve been lucky enough to be asked to write a screenplay for the 7 Magpies horror film anthology. It’s the first of its kind: a horror film anthology written and directed by black women.  I’m nervous and excited, not necessarily in that order. I’d like for this project to get the recognition it deserves and I hope my part in it does the film justice.

Website: http://edenroyce.com/

Blog: http://darkgeisha.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/EdenRoyce

https://www.facebook.com/eden.royce

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Eden-Royce-The-Dark-Geisha/175439055801467

2 comments on “Interview with Eden Royce

Leave a Reply

