Interview with Ian Lewis

IanLewisTell us about your publishing journey…
My first release was “The Camaro Murders.” I assumed it was going to be
difficult to get published. It’s a novella for one, which meant that
length would work against it, at least in the print world. It’s also a bit
unorthodox in its composition; it’s told from four different first-person
points of view in a non-chronological order. So I was concerned it
wouldn’t be viewed as “accessible.” Untreed Reads picked it up
nonetheless. I was thrilled of course. The story is somewhat literary in
nature, despite the supernatural/fantastic elements. I thought it would be
interesting to write a sober account of a murder mystery/ghost story using
inner monologues of the characters–sort of a dichotomy between the
content and the delivery. The book also spawned an unofficial series with
the recurring character known as the Driver. “Lady in Flames” is the
second entry in that series, also available with Untreed Reads. Again told
in first person, the delivery is somewhat more straightforward, with more
of a storytelling style. “Power in the Hands of One” is my third novella
with UR. It’s an homage to giant robot cartoons like Voltron and The Big
O.

What do you love about being an author?TheCamaroMurders

Primarily, I enjoy the creative outlet. Writing is somewhat of a
compulsion for me, and I have more ideas than I have time to write. It’s
also sort of an escape. When you let an idea percolate long enough, it
takes on a life of its own.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and
what would you eat?

I would eat filet with James Bond. No Question. I’ve always been
intrigued with the character, both in book and film.

If your book/ story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the
leads?

I write most of my stories with a film version in mind, or at least I
think they would translate well to film. I think this is because a lot of
what I write is inspired by abstract moods or ideas from music. So in a
sense I “see” or “feel” my story before it’s actually written, and so I
have a very clear vision of how the book would translate to film. As far
as characters go, I see them as average looking people, maybe even homely.
I would prefer unknown actors and in the case of the Driver stories, for
the film to be shot in a washed out type of cinematography.

LadyInFlamesVampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

I suppose I would prefer them with a stake in the heart, but I think
they’re truer to form as monsters.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’d love to go back to the early nineties to see Nirvana play live. I
lived through that period but didn’t get to see them. Really, I’d like to
go back to the time of Christ. That seems to me to be the most significant
period of history.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Nothing comes to mind, but something that always resonates with me is
something my Grandpa used to say: “You get what you pay for.” I’ve found
that most times, he was right.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I have no clue. Maybe I would be a shapeshifter, because then I could be
whatever I wanted.

Where do you write best?PowerInTheHandsOfOne

Typically, in my attic office. Though these days, with two little ones at
home, I’m having to write on my lunch break at work.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I recently finished “Divine Foreknowledge: Four Views.” It’s a smattering
of theology, philosophy, and logic–cerebral stuff. The book is a
collection of essays which outline four different theories of God’s
foreknowledge: the Augustinian-Calvinist view, the simple foreknowledge
view, the middle knowledge view, and the somewhat controversial
open-theism view. The whole concept consumed me for a few weeks, and it
was really all I could think about, but I enjoy things that make me think.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I guess I don’t feel as though I write in a specific genre, or at least I
don’t try to. I’ve published two supernatural thrillers and one sci-fi
story. I’ve also completed an as yet unpublished
action/adventure/thriller. I would like to attempt a fantasy epic, though
I don’t particularly enjoy the fantasy genre. It’s just that I have what I
think is a somewhat original idea for that type of a story that won’t die.

Where can fans find you online?

I have a website (www.ianlewisfiction.com) and I stay active on GoodReads
(https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6538843.Ian_Lewis). I am also
(reluctantly) on FaceBook:
https://www.facebook.com/Ian-Lewis-Fiction-462285677280662/timeline/?ref=hl.

 

Leave a Reply

