Interview with O’Neil De Noux

Dx bricks cTell us about your publishing journey…

My first four novels were published by a New York publisher who did nothing but print the books and toss them out the door (I had four different editors) so I took my next two books to a small publisher who, unfortunately, did not last long. I kept on writing and with the advent of eBooks and print-on-demand paperbacks, I took control of my art. With several other writers, artists, editors, production designers, photographers and proofreaders, we formed an artist co-op – BIG KISS PRODUCTIONS. We assist each other with our books and paintings, sculptures. I layout my books (and others) for paperback printing and eBooks. I also design covers. The artists and writers keep all their royalties as the publishing wing of the co-op receives no payment. We provide services to one another.

My 31st book was published in September 2015. All except one non-fiction book will remain in print as I control the entire process from writing to layout, cover and pricing of the books.

What do you love about being an author?

Vincent van Gogh once said, “Your profession is not what you do to earn a living; it’s what you were put on this earth to do.”

I was put here to be a writer. Love? It’s hard work. It’s dedication to honing your craft. It’s long hours working alone. But there is a love, I suppose. The love of escaping into the world created with each book. When I finished the 2-year journey writing my epic novel set around the Battle of New Orleans called BATTLE KISS, when I typed the ending line, I remember saving the file on the computer and leaning back to feel a tightness in my chest, my eyes growing misty because it was the end of those characters, the people I lived with every day for two years, people who loved and bled and some died, others persevered, others changed the plot as characters often do. The journey ended.

Literary Characters are as real as any real person.

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Hercule Poirot because he always ate well. I’d like him to come here to New Orleans where I could introduce him to crawfish etouffeé and shrimp bisque and chicken jambalaya and seafood gumbo, andouille and boudin and the wondrous Italian muffuletta. If I could dine with any of my characters it would be with LaStanza and his wife Lizette because their cook is Aunt Brulee, whose red-beans-and-rice are as good as my Aunt Lillian’s, is an great cook. Also because I’d like to look into Lizette’s topaz eyes just once.

If your book/ story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

I have four recurring character series.

Dino LaStanza could be played by Tom Cruise.

John Raven Beau could be played by Kit Harington (Jon Snow from GAME OF THRONES)

Lucien Caye could be played by Johnny Depp

Jacques Dugas could be played by Jean Dujardin (THE ARTIST Oscar winner)

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?TLC K

The 1950s here in New Orleans. I’d want to be a teenager as well so I can live through those times and through the 60s, 70s and on.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

Don’t drop out of graduate school. I did that twice.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

Bastet. Ancient Egyptian cat goddess. What could be cooler than to be part human and part cat?

Where do you write best?

At my desk in my home office with the art from the covers of my books on the walls around me, along with the autographed photos of Elmore Leonard and Harlan Ellison (photos I took). The room has some magic for me because when I’m there, I’m in the world I’m writing.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

Just finished reading GUARDING SHAKESPEARE by Quintin Peterson. It’s thinking-person’s caper novel with a lot of historical research and good information. Love a good caper novel.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

According to my writer and editor friends – I’m all over the place. I’ve had short stories published in so many genres: crime fiction, historical fiction, children’s fiction, mainstream fiction, science-fiction, suspense, fantasy, horror, western, literary, religious, romance, humor and erotica. I don’t know what’s left.

Where can fans find you online?

My website is best: www.oneildenoux.net because it lists the books and stories with links to each.

Amazon.com and Smashwords are great places to find my stuff.

Link to book: http://www.amazon.com/Long-Cold-LaStanza-Book-ebook/dp/B014XA0LJC/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1443186999&sr=1-2&keywords=the+long+cold

Leave a Reply

