Interview with Sofia Diana Gabel

A Woman's Way coverTell us about your publishing journey…

I started writing when I was very young, maybe four or five. Silly little poems and stories about animals, but that love of writing stuck with me. As I grew, I used writing as an escape. I was born in Australia and moved with my family when I was four. Of course, I had a very strong accent then and was teased in school. To avoid the teasing, I’d sit in a corner away from everyone and write in a notebook. It worked and nobody paid any attention to me. That increased my passion for writing until I got serious about it; studied writing, attended critique groups and workshops and honed the skill. Finally, I learned how to self-edit and use the critiques I received to smooth and tighten my stories. Next came querying. That’s exhaustive, but I persevered. I’ve been lucky to find a few wonderful publishers who don’t require agents and are fabulous at what they do. As I think every writer knows, authors must do their fair share of promoting and not rely solely on the publisher. And I don’t mind that a bit, I love the marketing aspect.

What do you love about being an author?

The best part is that I get to be creative. I use my imagination to craft characters, dialogue and stories. Because I tend to be a bit shy, I also love the fact that I can be home, alone, when I’m doing this. My social outlets are my critique groups, conferences and get-togethers with fellow authors. And of course my family!

If you could have dinner with any author, who would it be and what would you eat?

I’m a fan of Victor Hugo. I’d love to have a quiet dinner in the corner of a fabulous French restaurant in Paris with a tableful of vegetarian delights, since I’m vegetarian and I believe Mr. Hugo was as well.

If your book/ story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?Accord final cover

I have several novels published, but if my YA Sci-fi trilogy, Two Brothers, was made into a movie, I think Asa Butterfield would be great as Argus, the lead protagonist. Tai, the other twin brother, would be played by Dylan O’Brien. And Max Jackson, the antagonist chasing after the boys should be Bradley Cooper. Yep, that’s the cast.

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

I like them as monsters. The creepier the better. I’m a fan of Dracula. Drinking blood just isn’t sexy. Although, Ian Somerhalder as a vampire….

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

Can I go to the future instead? I’ve love to have the ability to travel to other worlds and see what else is in the universe. But, if I have to go back, I’d love to be alive during Mozart’s time when lavish balls and concerts were the entertainment of the day. Imagine wearing one of those huge dresses with hair piled high and being treated like a lady. Then again, I’m quite happy in the era I’m living in. I love technology and each new discovery is a thrill.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

You can do anything, so don’t ever give up. My father was sometimes a little too harsh with his expressions. I remember him reading one of those silly stories I wrote when I was young and he told me it was awful, that I couldn’t write and was wasting my time. That stuck in my head for a long time until I found out that he’d tried writing when he was young and got rejected once…yes, once…and then gave up. That changed things. I refused to let his negativity affect me. I dug in and kept going until I got published. He lived long enough to see me published, and he was proud!

CharitysHeart453x680If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

A fairy. I’d love to fly around the forest and do good. Plus, they’re really cute!

Where do you write best? 

At home when nobody is around. It’s hard to write with distractions, although I do need to have music playing. But the music changes depending on what I’m writing. Fast music for action scenes, romantic music for love scenes. It works to set the mood.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I’m in graduate school, so most of the books I’ve been reading are textbooks, but I did finally finish the last Hunger Games book. I like the writing and how close the author keeps the reader in the protagonist’s POV. That’s important to me, as well as a good story of course!

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I’m a multi-genre writer, so I’ve tried a lot of different genres. The one I haven’t tried is Steampunk. I’d love to give that a try, but I have a lot of studying to do first in that genre. Steampunk is fun and exciting and definitely creative.

Where can fans find you online?

www.sofiadianagabel.com

facebook.com/sofiadianagabel

Twitter:   @sofiadianagabel

www.instagram.com/sofiadianagabel

http://approachablefiction.blogspot.com/

http://www.goodreads.com/sofiadianagabel

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=sofia+diana+gabel

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

Leave a Reply

