Interview with David Perlmutter

IMG_6686 (800x533)Tell us about your publishing journey…

I published my first short story in 2008, and haven’t stopped writing since. I have lived in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada my whole life, and have no intention of moving.  I write both fiction and non-fiction. In the former I specialize in science fiction, fantasy and horror, with short stories in various anthologies, a novella, Pups (recently made available again by Anthologybuilder), and two short story collections, The Singular Adventures of Jefferson Ball (available from Chupa Cabra House) and Certain Private Conversations and Other Stories (available from Aurora Publishing/Pulp Corner). In the latter I have published a monograph on the history of television animation, America ‘Toons In(published by McFarland and Company), with more projects in this area intended, as well as endeavours into non-fiction fields that interest me. Upcoming projects include the long-awaited publication of my long in development first novel, Orthicon; or, the History of a Bad Idea (from Linkville Press), and a related short story cycle, Nothing About Us Without Us, from Dreaming Big Productions. 
What do you love about being an author?
Setting my own hours to work.
If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?
C.L. Moore’s Jirel of Joiry, and whatever they ate in the medieval world she came from.
If your book/ story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?
It would be an animated film, and would feature the voices of (among others) Kelsey Grammer and David Strathairn, along with most of the highly talented but greatly underpaid voice actors of television animation, whose work I greatly esteem.
Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?
Blood hungry monsters. Though I find them scary and intimidating in both forms.
If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?51xU+l0funL._AA160_
Sometime between World War II and the late 1960s, and some place on the Chitlin’ Circuit. Most of my favourite music dates from this period, and I would love to have experienced this music in the setting where it thrived.
What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?
That I should not worry about trivial things, because there is a great deal about life that is trivial. Consequently, you should find the things that matter most to you, and concentrate on fully enjoying them.
If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?
No brainer. An animated cartoon character (2D traditional cel). If you have read my work, you would understand why. I have spent so much time watching animation that I sometimes feel more at home in the universes of my favourite programs than my own.
Where do you write best? 
At home. Usually in longhand first, and then typed, unless I’m in a hurry or it’s really short, in which case I just type.
What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?
The last one I completed was Midian Unmade, the Clive Barker tribute anthology. Some of it was off-putting, but there was a real connection that I felt between the Nightbreed and the animated cartoon characters which I have spent a lot of time writing about. Misunderstanding leading to prejudice leading to fear in both cases.
If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?
I wish I was able to write mystery novels with a series character, but I haven’t been able to come up with anything like that. Apparently there’s a better chance of having a career in it, as writers that I admire, like Max Allan Collins, Bill Pronzini and Donald Westlake, were able to.
Where can fans find you online?
Facebook: David Perlmutter- Writer.
Twitter: @DKPLJW1
LinkedIn: David Perlmutter
Tumblr: The Musings of David Perlmutter (yesdavidperlmutterfan)
 Buy the books:
Leave a Reply

