Interview with Roy Dimond

Roy-2Tell us about your publishing journey…

First please allow me to say thank you Nicky for taking the time to interview me. I appreciate the support. My publishing journey, like so many authors, was tortured with rejection. The great River of No that all fledgling authors must dive into is indeed icy and choppy.

I was lucky when my first manuscript, The Singing Bowl was picked up by one of the first publishers I contacted, Green Dragon Books. Its Chairman, Mr. Wilson has since shared some of his many decades of experience and I am proud to say that a second edition has been launched.

The river however has not always run smoothly. My next publisher quickly signed my next two novels, The Rubicon Effect and Saving Our Pennys,which I co-authored with Jeff Leitch. The publisher did a wonderful job of editing and creating the book, but sadly they closed their doors shortly after my books launched.

But undeterred, thanks to the efforts of my agent Malaga Baldi, I have landed happily with Jay Hartman and K. D. Sullivan of Untreed Reads and they have published my newest book, Silence and Circumstance. It is a fictional account of the 11 days that Agatha Christie went missing.

What do you love about being an author?

The writing. Every thing else, marketing, editing, meeting people from around the world, is wonderful, educational, and always interesting, but for me it is all about the writing — creating a story in my mind and putting it on paper.

If you could have dinner with any author, who would it be and what would you eat?

Agatha Christie and steak. Mrs. Christie because of all the research I did for Silence and Circumstance and steak because my wife is a vegetarian and I never get to eat meat.

 If your book / story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?SaC_FinalMedium
 
I would like to see Emily Blunt play Charlotte Fisher, Agatha Christie’s governess, my protagonist in Silence and Circumstance.
 
There are so many twentieth century characters in my novel that it would undoubtedly be a director’s dream to cast characters. A young Ernest Hemingway (Benedict Cumberbatch), an even younger Ian Fleming (Joaquin Phoenix), and his mentor Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Sean Connery). Dorothy Parker (Jennifer Lawrence) and Dorothy Sayers (Natalie Portman), and so many more… Hitler, Einstein, Steinbeck and H. G. Wells… my mind reels at the possibilities. 

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

 For me vampires are up there with zombies. I just don’t get them. But if forced to choose, I’d go with sexy, because I’m a lover, not a biter.

 If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?
 
-I picture myself sitting at the Algonquin Round Table in a New York hotel on a dreary Tuesday afternoon drinking a late lunch with Dorothy Parker and her reprobates. It is the early 1920’s and I stub out my third cigarette and order my fourth drink while waving to Tallulah Bankhead.
 
What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

 Girls were as intimidated of me as I was of them… if I had only known sooner.

 If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

 Hmmm, never been asked that before. A Phoenix could be an iconic image for a writer. Considering all the times that one wants to quit in the middle of a manuscript, then finally the angst filled query letter, then rejection only to rise again the day the phone rings and an agent or publisher says those wonderful words, “Your manuscript interests me.”

SingingBowlWhere do you write best? 

Unfortunately, in my basement, with door closed and one light bulb shining on the keyboard. I live in a log home on the west coast of Canada, in the aptly named harbor of Garden Bay, on the Sunshine Coast. I want, and wish I could say that I write best from my lovely viewing room that gazes past huge fir and cedar trees into the sparkling Pacific but no, I write best in a dungeon… sigh.

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?
 
An incandescent work of prose poetry titled, By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept by Elizabeth Smart. She wrote this classic in a cabin close to where I now live and her book is simply the effort of a genius.
At the same time I read, The Captain by Ian O’Connor. I want to be Derek Jeter.
 
If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I have just completed my first effort at Young Adult, tentatively titled I, Bully. It is a story of redemption, a hero’s journey, and life lessons all rolled into one. What I think makes it unique is that it is told from the perspective of both the bully and the victim.

I tackled this genre because I was a Youth Worker for 30 years and saw the damage and end result of bullying — not just for the victim, but the bully as well.

Where can fans find you online?

 All the usual places:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Roy-Dimond-Author/391172050979499

http://www.authorsden.com/roydimond

https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=122268688&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

http://roydimond.tripod.com/

http://roydimond.wordpress.com/ 

https://twitter.com/RoyDimond2

 My books are everywhere, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc… or at the publisher’s sites…

 http://www.untreedreads.com/

http://greendragonbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

