Interview with Laurie Stevens

1ed2506db573f84b66154bd81aa46e2eTell us about your publishing journey…

I guess I’m known as a “hybrid” author. For a couple of years I tried to get my first book, The Dark Before Dawn, published the traditional way. I spent months perfecting

a book proposal — even lunching with the guy who wrote a book on the subject to get his feedback. I sent queries. I hired a professional content editor.
Everything! Nothing came of it. So I put the book on a shelf and went on to write and produce a stage play.  My husband pressed me to pick up the book again, saying it was too good to abandon.
By this time my writing had matured somewhat soI took another look at The Dark Before Dawn and revamped it. One of the songwriters on the play told me a mutual friend of ours had been published by Createspace.
I thought, if he could do it, so can I. So I self-published The Dark Before Dawn and then the second in the series, Deep into Dusk. The books received excellent reviews. The Dark made Kirkus Reviews
Best of 2011/Indie. Deep won the 2014 IPPY for Best Mystery/Thriller. All told, the two books won nine awards. That got me some attention. After running a promotion that caused both books to rank in the Top 10 on the Amazon sales charts
I secured an agent for worldwide rights and she sold the books to Random House, Germany. I’m proud to say that Todes Schuld (German version of The Dark Before Dawn) comes out October, 2105. With Deep into Dusk released in 2016.  This event also got me signed with a literary and theatrical agent here in the States who now is shopping my work.
What do you love about being an author?59c2aa47b2469d6f513d46b800bda69d (1)

As I’m sure you do, Nicky, I love the process. I love how an idea takes form in my head, percolates there, and then comes the challenge to use words in the best way possible  to

convey the story. Of course, getting a good review and making those who read it happy doesn’t hurt either!

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

Gosh, could I have dinner with Harry Potter? That way, we could eat anything and anywhere because all he’d have to do is wave his wand.  Since I like Noir a lot, a dinner with Chandler’s Philip Marlowe might be interesting. But I’d have to order a salad, because knowing Marlowe, he might make a snarky comment about women who eat like pigs.

If your book/ story was to be made into a movie, who would you cast as the leads?

Can I fantasize here?  Bradley Cooper, with those empathetic blue eyes of his, would fit the bill nicely for the troubled character of Gabriel McRay. Michael Fassbender would work, too (remember, there is a German version!) A younger version of Ryan Gosling would be perfect as the villain Victor Archwood.

7b7226e3902c87673b45c4b38dc45586If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?

I’m in love with the 19th century. When I go into Bed and Breakfast places from the 1800’s, I always feel like I’m at home. However, knowing me, I’d probably start freaking out that no modern medicines exist.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

I was given the advice to write, write, and only write and stop trying to fill every other shoe. I wish I’d taken that advice sooner.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I’d be happy being a witch. She can fly, she’s into cooking (spells), She’s got power.

Where do you write best? 

I can write anywhere as long I’m not being annoyed by some nagging external force (use your imagination).

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I’m reading “Deep Down Dark” right now -(Not to be confused as a mutation of my two books), about the 33 trapped Chilean miners.  I do like it, although I thought the buildup (taking each and every guy and going into depth about his family life) was longer than it needed to be.

I read a lot of independently published books and review them on Goodreads. I do this as a favor to independents and also because some books really are hidden gems.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?ab46264769d85cf04f6682c728e4204a

Well, I’m about to begin a new series that is most definitely not psychological suspense like The Gabriel McRay series. I’m going to try my hand at a drama of sorts, more literary fiction than crime fiction. Why? To branch out and because the idea began to form.

Where can fans find you online?

You can check me out at www.lauriestevensbooks.com and I often update my Facebook page at www.facebook.com/lauriestevensbooks. All likes are welcome!

Laurie’s Books can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005HFR2BI
One comment on “Interview with Laurie Stevens

  1. Pingback: Interview with Laurie Stevens | Laurie story's Blog

Leave a Reply

