Interview with Chelsea Pitcher

5816770Tell us about your publishing journey…

It took me fifteen years, five manuscripts and dozens (if not hundreds) of queries before I held my first book in my hand! Luckily, I started early, at sixteen, and kept honing my craft throughout my adult years.

I also had a lot of support along the way. I found fabulous critique partners on Critters and Absolute Write, as well as query help from Evil Editor. Without that, I never would’ve made it to where I am now. I’m so grateful to everyone who supported me on my journey!

What do you love about being an author?

I love hearing readers talk about my characters! For so long, it was just me with my computer, creating these people and these worlds, and having everything feel so real—but only for me. Now I have readers emailing me about the characters as if they’re real people, and it’s amazing. I couldn’t ask for a cooler experience!

If you could have dinner with any literary character, who would it be and what would you eat?

I’d love to have dinner with Morgan le Fay, and I think we would sneak into Faerie and eat from an elaborate banquet with a host of fascinating creatures!

Vampires – do you prefer them as sexy leads or blood hungry monsters?

Honestly, I think I prefer something in between. Vampires can definitely be sexy, but I do prefer them a bit more gothic. I love dark, elaborate castles, heroines in velvet dresses, and a mysterious vampire with a compelling backstory.

That said, my favorite vampire of all time is Sita from Christopher Pike’s The Last Vampire series, and she kicked butt in the modern day. She also used her abilities to hunt really bad humans, which I totally dig.

If you had a time machine, which era would you go back to and why?18658149

I’d love to go back to the Roaring 20s! It seems like such an exciting time, with all the music, the art, and the ladies in flapper dresses! I think I could have a lot of fun there.

What life advice do you wish you’d been given sooner?

There’s no such thing as a guarantee—and that’s okay. Sometimes the risk is worth it, and planning for every eventuality will just keep you from taking necessary chances.

If you were a supernatural creature, what would you be and why?

I write a lot about faeries, but the truth is, I think I would be a mermaid. I’ve always been drawn to water, especially the ocean, and I think it would be amazing to get to explore the deepest parts of the sea! And, if we’re really being honest, I’d probably be singing songs from The Little Mermaid while I was exploring.

Where do you write best?

Somewhere sunny and quiet, with a big, fat latte in my hand, ha. I really love writing in the park in the summertime, and there’s a really big park by my house that allows me to kind of hide myself away and get a lot of work done. It’s wonderful!

What was the last book you read, and what were your thoughts on it?

I read Far From You by Tess Sharpe and I really loved it. It’s a dark YA murder mystery with a queer protagonist, and the characters were really fascinating. I loved trying to guess who the culprit was.

If you didn’t write in your genre, which other would you prefer and why?

I’d love to write some YA sci-fi, specifically with a focus on quantum physics. I love the idea of multiple dimensions and everything in the universe being connected. I just have to figure out what the story would be, and I’ll start writing it!

Where can fans find you online?

People can find me at my website: chelseapitcher.com

On Twitter: twitter.com/Chelsea_pitcher

On Facebook: Facebook.com.ChelseaPitcher81

And Tumblr: ChelseaPitcher.Tumblr.com

thelastchangelingblogtour

2 comments on “Interview with Chelsea Pitcher

Leave a Reply

